Date of

Tuesday, 4th August, 2020

meeting

Time 7.00 pm

Venue via Video - Conference

Contact Geoff Durham 742222



Castle House Barracks Road Newcastle-under-Lyme Staffordshire ST5 1BL

Licensing & Public Protection Committee

AGENDA

PART 1 – OPEN AGENDA

PART 1 - PUBLIC PROTECTION (CLOSED)

1 DISCLOSURE OF EXEMPT INFORMATION

To resolve that the public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the attached report, because it is likely that there will be disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1, 2 and 7 in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

2 MINUTES OF PUBLIC PROTECTION SUB-COMMITTEE (Pages 5 - 16) MEETINGS

To consider the minutes of the Public Protection Sub-Committees which have met since the previous Licensing and Public Protection Committee.

PART 2 - LICENSING

- 3 APOLOGIES
- 4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN RELATION TO LICENSING MATTERS

To receive declarations of interest from Members on items contained within the agenda

5 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Pages 17 - 20) 6 DRAFT STATEMENT OF LICENSING POLICY 2020/25 (Pages 21 - 82) 7 BUSINESS AND PLANNING ACT 2020 (Pages 83 - 90)

FIVE MINUTE BREAK

Contacting the Council: Switchboard 01782 717717 . Text 07800 140048

Email webmaster@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk. www.newcastle-staffs.gov.uk

PART 3 - PUBLIC PROTECTION (OPEN)

8 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN RELATION TO PUBLIC PROTECTION MATTERS

To receive declarations of interest from Members on items contained within the agenda

- 9 DOG CONTROLS, PUBLIC SPACES PROTECTION ORDER (Pages 91 94) REVIEW
- 10 SCHEME UPDATES: (a) TOWN CENTRE HACKNEY CARRIAGE (Pages 95 98)
 MARSHALLING & (b) USE OF THE BUS STATION FOR
 PRIVATE HIRE VEHICLES
- 11 ENVIRONMENTAL ACT 1995 PART (IV) LOCAL AIR QUALITY (Pages 99 112)
 MANAGEMENT ANNUAL STATUS REPORT 2020
- 12 URGENT BUSINESS

To consider any business which is urgent within the meaning of Section 100B (4) of the Local Government Act 1972

Members: Councillors Mark Olszewski (Chair), Graham Hutton (Vice-Chair), John Cooper, Ms Sylvia Dymond,

Tony Kearon, Andrew Parker, Kyle Robinson, Stephen Sweeney, Miss June Walklate, Mrs Jill Waring,

Gary White, Mrs Gillian Williams, John Williams, Mrs Ruth Wright and Mrs Gill Heesom

Note: only the following Members from the full membership who have been nominated to attend this Zoom meeting are required:

Councillors Mark Olszewski (Chair), Graham Hutton (Vice-Chair), Tony Kearon, Stephen Sweeney, Mrs Jill Waring, Gary White, Mrs Gill Williams and Mrs Gill Heesom

SUBSTITUTE MEMBER SCHEME (Appendix 9, Section 4 of Constitution)

The Constitution provides for the appointment of Substitute members to attend Committees. The named Substitutes for this meeting are listed below:-

Substitute Members: Miss Julie Cooper Miss Marion Reddish

Trevor Johnson John Tagg
Paul Northcott Mrs Sue Moffat
Bert Proctor Mrs Silvia Burgess

If you are unable to attend this meeting and wish to appoint a Substitute to attend in your place you need to:

- Identify a Substitute member from the list above who is able to attend on your behalf
- Notify the Chairman of the Committee (at least 24 hours before the meeting is due to take place) NB Only 2 Substitutes per political group are allowed for each meeting and your Chairman will advise you on whether that number has been reached

Officers will be in attendance prior to the meeting for informal discussions on agenda items.

ONLINE COMMITTEE MEETING JOINING INSTRUCTIONS

This meeting will be held virtually using Zoom.

Watching the Meeting

You can attend the meeting in the following ways:

Web: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89618267117

Using the Zoom App

Telephone: 0330 088 5830 or 0131 460 1196

The Conference ID for telephone and Zoom App users is: 896-1826-7117

You do not require a password or pre-registration to access this committee meeting. Please note, as an attendee you will only be able to watch the meeting. You will not be able to vote, ask questions or discuss the materials presented to the committee.